Find Databases by Subject


Go up one level 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Music - Online Recordings and Video

  • American Song (North America)

    Description: A collection of music by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys on topics as varied as Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests, and more. And the range of genres includes country, folk, bluegrass, Western, old time, American Indian, blues, gospel, shape note singing, doo-wop, Motown, R&B, soul, funk, and others.

  • Classical Music Library

    Description: Provides musical sound recordings and MIDI files, program notes, reference texts (composer biographies, history, and glossary), and images. The music includes vocal and instrumental works from the Middle Ages through to the present. Users navigate through browse lists, a search engine and music track playlists

  • Dance in Video

    Description: Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance. Included are classic performances from top ballet companies; experimental works from up-and-coming dance troupes; documentaries by and about leading choreographers; videos on dance training; and other items covering a wide range of 20th century dance styles.

  • DRAM (Database of Recorded American Music)

    Description: Off-site access via BOL VPN only. A scholarly resource of concert, jazz, and folk music by American composers and artists, with CD quality audio, liner notes, and essays. Many tracks were originally issued on New world Records and CRI, but DRAM includes tracks from labels specializing in American music, such as Albany, Cedille, etc.

  • Medici.tv

    Description: Provides access to a high definition video library of close to 1000 performances of recitals, concerts, operas, ballets, and documentaries. Also available is streamed access to many live events that can be viewed in real time or through several delayed broadcasts

  • Naxos Musical Library Jazz

    Description: Digital access to Naxos Jazz label and the 22 labels of Fantasy Jazz.

  • Naxos Music Library

    Description: Listening access to streamed digital audio of complete recordings from the Naxos, Marco Polo, and Da Capo record catalogs. Almost the entire Naxos catalog is represented with some omissions of jazz and popular music.

  • Smithsonian Global Sound

    Description: Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries, produced in partnership with Smithsonian Folkways Recordings, is a virtual encyclopedia of the world musical and aural traditions. The collection provides educators, students, and interested listeners with an unprecedented variety of online resources that support the creation, continuity, and preservation of diverse musical forms.